Eye On It

A couple months ago when I let Cub choose a Toby Mac song for his mp3 player as a reward for something, I never imagined I would be ministered to myself through it. He chose the song “Eye On It” from the album of the same name. As part of giving it to him, we looked up the lyrics because I wanted him to understand what he would no doubt soon be singing ad nauseam throughout the house. In reading through them, I realized they referred to a verse in Philippians I memorized many years ago:

“I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3:14)

We talked a little about this verse and how it means we need to always remember where we are going (heaven) and live and work towards that goal, not getting stuck in earthly things and desires.

Fast forward two months…after the whirlwind pace at which we proceeded through things this summer and fall (initial application, training, calling, long-term application and interviews, approval, exploratory trip, budget, support team forming), things have slowed down a bit as the next step is quite a bit longer: support raising. Admittedly, this is not a step I have been looking forward to, though I am learning it is a very important step. Not only is it obviously an essential part of our going (one would be foolish to set out without either financial or prayer support), but I think it is an important step in our own faith process as we prepare. EMM gave us a couple books to help us with this step. One of them, A Spirituality of Fundraising, talks about how fundraising is a ministry—a chance for a fresh conversion to God’s ways for both the asker and the giver. As we work to develop our vision for working with the people of Guatemala, we are praying for partners to join with us. This mission is not about us, but about God’s working through many in the church to bring help and hope to a mistreated people. It is an exciting opportunity!

Back to Toby Mac: despite the knowledge from this book, it is very easy to get bogged down by the details of fundraising—making lists, writing letters, formatting brochures, phone calls, emails, ad infinitum. And wondering if all this is really going to get us where we need to be. We have a staggering amount of money to raise in the next eight months. However, we also have a God who can move mountains who has called us to do this. And if He has called us, He will be faithful to see us through. THAT is what I need to keep my eye on and press on toward. Although Guatemala is not heaven, it is where God has called us and where He will lead us. I just need to keep my “eye on it”!

 

And for the uninitiated, you may see and hear the song here. Just don’t blame me if it gets stuck in your head. 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

